| Feedback |
National Mission on Himalayan Studies

Implemented by the Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change (MoEF&CC)
Nodal and Serving hub with G.B. Pant National Institute of Himalayan Environment & Sustainable Development

The Indian Himalayan Region – The Target Area

With geographical coverage of over 0.53 million km2 area, the Indian Himalayan Region (IHR) constitutes nearly 17% of country's geographical area and contributes greatly to richness and representativeness of its biodiversity components at all levels (i.e., genes, species and ecosystems). Although the region represents only about 4% of total human population of the country, it exhibits great diversity of ethnic groups (e.g., 171 out of a total 573 reported scheduled tribes in India), often inhabiting remote and inhospitable terrains. The diversity of biophysical features in IHR is adequately represented through representation of 3 bio-geographical zones and 9 bio-geographic provinces (Table).

Table: Diversity of biophysical features in IHR
Bio-geographic Zones Bio-geographic Provinces % of geographical area of India Major Biome Representation
Trans Himalaya 1A: Ladakh Mountains 3.3 Tundra
1B: Tibetan Plateau 2.3 Alpine
1 C: Sikkim Trans Himalaya < 0.1 Alpine, Tundra
The Himalaya 2A: North west Himalaya 2.1 Alpine, Temperate, Sub Tropical
2B: West Himalaya 1.6 -do-
2C: Central Himalaya 0.2 -do-
2D: East Himalaya 2.5 -do-
Northeast India 9A: Brahamputra Valley 2.0 Tropical Evergreen Forest, Very Moist Sal Forest, Tropical Grass Lands
9B: Northeast Hills 3.2 Tropical evergreen, Tropical Moist Deciduous, Subtropical, Montane Temperate, Wetlands
Source: Rodgers and Panwar, 1988; Rodgers et al., 2000 (Wildlife Institute of India).

More Information

More Information

The jurisdiction of the Scheme thus extends across IHR, which includes 10 Himalayan states fully (viz., Arunachal Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura and uttarakhand) and two states partially (viz., hill districts of Assam and West Bengal) (Figure).

Figure: Map showing jurisdiction area of the NMHS – IHR States[including 10 states fully: AP- Arunachal Pradesh, HP-Himachal Pradesh, J&K - Jammu & Kashmir, MN- Manipur, MG- Meghalaya, MZ- Mizoram, NG- Nagaland, SK- Sikkim, TR- Tripura and UK-Uttarakhand, and 2 states partially viz., hill districts of Assam and West Bengal

वेबसाइट हिट: http://www.hitwebcounter.com/
अद्वितीय आगंतुक: http://www.hitwebcounter.com/
पिछला नवीनीकरण: २५-०७-२०१८